Dry Needling (Trigger Point Injections)

Trigger Point Injections also called Dry Needling if one doesn’t accept the anasthetic injections of procaine, lidocaine or corticosteroid. It’s a therapy or treatment used to relieve muscle or joint pain. The idea is to relieve the trigger points, which are knots inside your muscles by injections. However, it can also be done without the injections. The side effects are supposed to be minimal in such a treatment compared to some other treatments out there.

Well, today, that’s what I had done to me for the first time. For the last few months I’ve experienced shoulder pain that has had an increasingly negative effect in my daily life. It’s kept me from sleeping on my left side, causes me pain when I give Thai Yoga Massage, when I rotate my arm certain ways and when I lift my arm. It all began at some point when I was really young. Maybe in one of my teenage car accidents. However, as a young person who is flexible and agile, there were no injuries to my knowledge. As the years have worn on, I’ve become more aware that my left shoulder has a limited range of motion and that during certain yoga poses my shoulder gives in and my left arm falls asleep unless I adjust my pose.

In a constant search of alternative and less invasive methods, I decided to seek the expertise of an osteopath to find out what such a professional person would have to say. After a long and thorough research of what’s available in network and reading patient reviews along with checking out credentials, yes as you can tell I’m serious about this matter, I found someone I was willing to try. Against his recommendations, I denied the anasthetic injections so he decided to use acupuncture needles as supposed to the ones he normally uses during this treatment. I wish I could have seen him stick them in my shoulders but I can tell that it certainly was a different experience. As the doctor stuck the needle inside my muscle, repeatedly but in various places, he poked around to find the trigger points trying to release the knots. If there was a twitch that means that there is a release. The doc warned me that I might be sore for the next few days but he also asked me to make mental notes of how I feel since he hasn’t had anyone do this without the anasthetic injections.

Now, many hours later, I still feel a dull sensation in my left shoulder down the side of my arm to my elbow from the dry needling. It’s not painful but I’m very aware of this area and will take a hot shower and put on some arnica gel. Tomorrow, I’ll be going to see a Physical Therapist for the first time in my life. All of this is new to me but a good experience, since I’m myself in the field of healing and aiding people in various physical conditions.

One Response to Dry Needling (Trigger Point Injections)

  1. Hey I love your blog and I put it in my reader!

Leave a comment